Clerk, Neil H. Hanson Trustee, Donald DeRoche Supervisor, Rhonda Boshears Treasurer, Laura Mattson Trustee, Kathleen Frisk

MICHIGAMME TOWNSHIP PO BOX 220 Michigamme, MI 49861 Phone: 906-323-6608 Fax: 906-323-6344 admin@michigammetownship.com

MINUTES for September 11, 2023 Board Meeting

GUESTS: Paul Olson, Joan Carlisle, Ken Schon, Laurie Schon, Richard Schodey-FILA, Eric Schooley-FILA, Pam Myers-FILA, Brad DeLongchamp, Debbie Kinnunen, Margaret Luke, Mary Hosier, Steve Hosier, Don Wood, Linda Wood, Julia Leake, Beth Koenig, Gary Koenig, John McBride, Rose McBride, Wally Tanner, Nancy Ferro, Gary Anderson, Jerry Roach, Frederika Roach, Kathi Hanson, William Seppanen.

I.CALL TO ORDER: Boshers called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

II. ROLL CALL All five board members present. There is a quorum.

III. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Recited.

IV. CONSENT AGENDA: Frisk motioned to approve the agenda without the August 14th & August 21st minutes or Treasurer report. Second by Mattson. Voice vote. 5 Ayes. 0 Nays. Motion passed.

- 1. AGENDA
- 2. BOARD MEETING MINUTES AUGUST 14, 2023
- 3. SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES AUGUST 21, 2023
- 4. TREASURERS REPORT
- 5. BILLS TO BE PAID

V. PUBLIC COMMENT: (Three Minutes on Agenda items only) Julia Leake, Rose McBride, Debbie Kinnunen, Steve Hoiser. Public comment closed.

- VI. BOARD COMMENT: No comments.
- VII. ANNOUNCEMENTS: No announcements.
- **`VIII. COMMITTEE REPORTS**

1. FIRE BOARD: The fire department has 150 free smoke detectors. If you want one, make sure you put your name on the list with the fire chief.

- 2. DDA: Board meeting changed to Tuesday September 12, 2023 at 6:00 pm.
- 3. PLANNING COMMISSION: No meeting, did not have quorum.
- 4. FIRE DEPARTMENT/EMS: No report.

IX. DPW UPDATES: John Howe gave a report.

X. CONTINUING BUSINESS:

1. ROAD WORK BUDGET FOR 2024 WORK INCLUDING CHIP SEAL & CO RD 607 PLANS (MCRC): Pete Duex and Alex Elsenheimer from the Marquette County Road Commission gave a presentation to the board and guests. The board requested finance options information and told them they will get back to them once they have reviewed costs, budgets, and investments.

2. ADMIN ASSISTANT AND SECRETARY POSITIONS: Frisk motioned to appoint Tami Hillis as the administrative assistant on a permanent basis. Second by Mattson. Voice vote. 5 Ayes. Motion carried. Frisk motioned to appoint Laura Thompson as the secretary/receptionist on a permanent basis. Second by Hanson. Voice vote. 5 Ayes. Motion carried.

3. ESTIMATES FOR BUILDING REPAIRS: Johnny Hillis reported no one replied to the letters he sent out. There were no takers on the Building Exchange either. His next step is to go to each business to see if they are interested.

4. PARK GRANT UPDATES – Frisk reported we need a resolution to accept the Park Grant.

5. RESOLUTION TO APPROVE LAND & WATER GRANT FOR PARK RENOVATIONS: Motion made by DeRoche to accept the Park Grant. Second by Mattson. Roll call. DeRoche Aye, Frisk Aye, Boshears Aye, Mattson Aye, Hanson Aye. 5 Ayes. 0 Nays. Motion passed.

6. USDA GRANT UPDATES – DeRoche reported according to the last information he received it looks like we received the \$50,000.00 grant for the backhoe, but it is not positive yet. John Howe will check to see what the current price will be for a backhoe.

7. TRUNK OR TREAT: The location for the event will be the Museum for food. Games will be held in the empty lot. If the weather is bad, it will be held at the Community Building and the street will be blocked off. (Township would need a permit to block off the street.)

XI. NEW BUSINESS:

1. RESIGNATION LETTER FROM TOWNSHIP CLERK: Motion made by DeRoche to accept the Clerk's resignation with his last official last day as October 1st 2023 at 3:00 pm. Second by Mattson. Neil abstained from vote. Roll call. Boshears Nay, Frisk Nay, Mattson Aye, DeRoche Aye. 2 Ayes 2 Nays. Motion failed.

2. BS&A SOFTWARE: Mattson gave a report. No action taken, will revisit later.

3. SEWER RATES FOR SEWER FISCAL YEAR: Current sewer rates are \$55.00 (\$22.50 bond/\$32.50 user fee). The board will review current fees, possible repairs, and budget figures and revisit at the upcoming special meeting.

4. REAPPOINTMENT OF PC MEMBER: Boshears stated Marsha McBride can stop by the office anytime to be sworn in.

XII. PUBLIC COMMENT (Three Minutes): Beth Koenig, Frederika Roach, Paul Olson, William Seppanen, Julia Leake, Debbie Kinnunen, Rose McBride, Terry McBride, Margaret Luke, Nancy Ferro, Kathi Hanson, Gary Koenig. Public comment closed.

XIII. BOARD COMMENT: Kay Frisk, Laura Mattson, Rhonda Boshears. Board comment closed.

XIV. ADJOURNMENT: Meeting adjourned by Boshears at 8:08 pm.