MICHIGAMME TOWNSHIP PO BOX 220

Michigamme, MI 49861 Phone: 906-323-6608

Fax: 906-323-6344

admin@michigammetownship.com

Location: Community Building
Date: December 15. 2023
Time: 5:00 P.M.
Michigamme Township Board
Special Meeting Minutes

Attendees: Beth Koenig, Gary Koenig, Bill Seppanen, Carla Skytta, Irene DeRoche, Kathi Hanson, Marsha McBride

- I. CALL TO ORDER The meeting was called to order by Clerk Hillis at 5:00 p.m.
- II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE Recited.
- III. ROLL CALL MEMBERS PRESENT: Treasurer Mattson, Trustee DeRoche, Trustee Frisk, Clerk Hillis. Quorum present.
- IV. ASSIGN MODERATOR Motion by Hillis to nominate Frisk to be the moderator of the meeting, DeRoche seconded. Voice vote: DeRoche Aye, Frisk Aye, Mattson Aye, Hillis Aye. Motion carried.
- V. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA Frisk made the motion to approve the agenda, support from DeRoche. 4 Ayes. Motion carried.
- VI. PUBLIC COMMENT B. Seppanen, G. Koenig
- VII. BOARD COMMENT DeRoche, Hillis, Frisk

VIII. CONTINUING BUSINESS

- APPOINT TOWNSHIP SUPERVISOR DeRoche made a recommendation to put all four applicants' names in a hat and draw randomly the order in which to discuss and vote on an applicant.
 A. Julia Leake: All board members made comments. Hillis made the motion to nominate Julia Leake as supervisor. No second motion. No action taken.
 - B. Kathi Hanson: Frisk, Hillis and DeRoche made comments. DeRoche made the motion to nominate Kathi Hansen as supervisor. Mattson seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Mattson Aye, DeRoche Aye, Frisk Nay, Hillis Nay. No action taken.

C: Lisa Rogers: All board members made comments. Mattson made the motion to nominate Lisa Rogers as supervisor. DeRoche seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Frisk – Nay, Mattson – Aye, DeRoche – Aye, Hillis – Nay. No action taken.

D: Heather Smith: Frisk, Hillis, DeRoche made comments. Frisk made the motion to nominate Heather Smith as supervisor. Hillis seconded the motion. Roll call vote: DeRoche – Aye, Frisk – Aye, Mattson – Nay, Hillis – Aye. Motion carried.

E: Heather Smith was voted in as the new Township Supervisor.

- IX. PUBLIC COMMENT B. Seppanen, G. Koenig, I. DeRoche
- X. BOARD COMMENT Hillis, Deroche, Mattson, Frisk
- XI. ADJOURNMENT Frisk adjourned the meeting at 5:40 p.m.